فيسبوك تويتر
offersthebest.com

قد تكون الملاءات والمفارش القطنية المتوفرة بشكل شائع خطرًا صحيًا شديدًا

تم النشر في سبتمبر 20, 2021 بواسطة David Brown

يعد Cotton أليافًا مفيدة حقًا لها العديد من الصفات العظيمة: إنها hypoallergenic ، فهي تتخلى عن الرطوبة بشكل جيد لشعور جاف رائع ، إنها ناعمة نسبيًا ، وهي تغسل وتجف جيدًا. لكن القطن هو أيضًا المحصول الأكثر رشًا في العالم ويستخدم 25 في المائة من مبيدات الآفات في العالم لإنتاج القطن. تتراكم مخلفات المبيدات هذه في القطن أثناء تطورها ، ويمكن نقلها مباشرة إلى فراشك إذا كانت مصنوعة من القطن غير العضوي. بمجرد أن تنام على هذا القطن المصاب ، يمكن أن تمر بقايا المبيدات عبر بشرتك وفي جسمك.

القطن غير العضوي سيء بما فيه الكفاية ، ولكن البوليستر ، الذي يتضمن 50 في المائة من الفراش المزيج بنسبة 50/50 ، يتكون من البتروكيماويات التي لا ينبغي أن تكون في أي مكان بالقرب من جسم الإنسان. يشتمل البوليستر على مركبات تسببت في فثالات ، والتي يمكن استخدامها لتوليد الألياف أكثر مرونة ، وهذه المركبات تحاكي هرمون الاستروجين الأنثوي في جسم الإنسان. ارتبط التعرض المستمر للفثالات وغيرها من الملدنات في حاويات الطعام ، وأدوات المائدة ، وموارد البوليستر وغيرها من الموارد ، بالانخفاض الدرامي في خصوبة الذكور التي حدثت خلال الستينيات الماضية. يقوم البوليستر أيضًا بفخار بخار الماء ، والذي يسبب التعرق الليلي ، وحكة جوك وقدم الرياضي. إنه مدرج في الأوراق لأنه ميسور التكلفة ويجعل الألواح أكثر دائمة وخالية من التجاعيد. ومع ذلك ، هل هذا يستحق العواقب الصحية المحتملة؟

الجواب على هذه المعضلة هو استخدام ملاءات القطن العضوية ووسائد على سريرك. نظرًا لأن هذه القضية نمت على المبيدات الحشرية في القطن المزروع تقليديًا وكذلك الفثالات في القطن ، فقد أصبح الفراش القطني العضوي متاحًا على نطاق أوسع. يتم إنتاج القطن العضوي المزروع حاليًا على مستوى العالم ، من تكساس إلى الهند. يتم نسج القطن العضوي في ملاءات وأغطية وسائد تشعر ويبدو وكأنه فراش متاح تجاريًا ، بدون الأصباغ والبوليستر. أجد أيضًا أن هذه الأوراق أكثر راحة للنوم لأنها لا تحبس الرطوبة مثل خلطات القطن/البوليستر 50/50.

الأوراق العضوية الأفضل هي مسبقة ما قبل البخار ويمكن غسلها بالكامل وتجفيفها. ليس لديهم سوى عدد قليل من التجاعيد أكثر من المجفف أكثر من مزيج 50/50 ، ولكن هذا هو سعر صغير لدفع ثمن سرير صحية. يمكننا جميعًا العيش مع بعض التجاعيد ، لكن قد لا يكون لدينا القدرة على العيش مع السرطان.

يتم الآن بيع صفائح القطن العضوي ، وسادات ، ومنصات المراتب ، والبطانيات من هؤلاء الصانعي في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية من خلال تجار التجزئة المحليين الذين يركزون على الفراش الألياف الطبيعية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، هناك العديد من تجار التجزئة على الإنترنت على المستوى الوطني لألواح القطن العضوية والفراش.

Commonly Available Cotton Sheets and Bedding May Be a Severe Health Risk

Cotton is a very useful fiber that has many good qualities: It is hypoallergenic, it wicks away moisture well for a nice dry feel, it is relatively soft, and it washes and dries well. But cotton is also the most heavily sprayed crop on earth and 25% of the world’s pesticides are used for cotton production. These pesticide residues build up in cotton as it grows, and they can be transferred directly to your bedding when it is made from non-organic cotton. Once you sleep on this contaminated cotton, pesticide residue can pass through your skin and into your body.

Non-organic cotton is bad enough, but the polyester, which comprises the other 50% of your 50/50 blend bedding, is made from petrochemicals that shouldn’t be anywhere near your body. Polyester contains chemicals caused phthalates, which are used to make the fibers more flexible, and these chemicals mimic the female hormone estrogen in the human body. Constant exposure to phthalates and other plasticizers in food containers, dinnerware, polyester upholstery and other sources, has been linked to cancers and the dramatic drop in male fertility that has happened during the last 60 years. Polyester also traps water vapor, which causes night sweats, jock itch and athlete’s foot. It is included in sheets because it is inexpensive and makes sheets more durable and wrinkle-free. But is this worth the potential health consequences?

The solution to this problem is to use organic cotton sheets and pillowcases on your bed. As the concern has grown over the pesticides in conventionally grown cotton and the phthalates in polyester, organic cotton bedding has become more widely available. Organic grown cotton is now being produced worldwide, from Texas to India. The organic cotton is woven into sheets and pillowcases that look and feel like commercially available bedding, without the pesticides and the polyester. I also find these sheets to be much more comfortable for sleeping because they don’t trap moisture like 50/50 cotton/polyester blends.

Better organic sheets are pre-shrunk using steam and are totally machine washable and dryable. They have just a few more wrinkles out of the dryer than the 50/50 blends, but that is a small price to pay for a healthy bed. We can all live with some wrinkles, but we may not be able to live with cancer.

Organic cotton sheets, pillowcases, mattress pads, and blankets from these manufacturers are now being sold across the United States through local retailers that specialize in natural fiber bedding. There are also a number of nationwide Internet retailers for organic cotton sheets and bedding.